Saturday, November 18, 2017

google plus

Posted at: Jul 17, 2017, 2:00 AM; last updated: Jul 17, 2017, 2:00 AM (IST)FEDERER, 35, CLAIMS 19TH GRAND SLAM TITLE TO BECOME WIMBLEDON’S OLDEST MEN’S WINNER

Eighth wonder

Swiss wins record 8th Wimbledon to break the tie with Pete Sampras and William Renshaw

Going strong

  • Federer, who will turn 36 in 23 days, becomes the oldest men’s singles champion at Wimbledon in the professional era. Britain’s Arthur Gore was 41 when he won the 1909 title, making him the oldest ever.
  • This is the second time Federer has clinched a Grand Slam title without losing a set, having won the 2007 Australian Open in same fashion. Since 1980, Rafael Nadal is the only other man to have won a Major title without dropping a set — French Open (2008, 2010, 2017)
  • With 9 women’s titles, only Martina Navratilova has won more Wimbledon singles titles than Federer

London, July 16

Roger Federer won a record eighth Wimbledon title and became the tournament’s oldest champion with a straight-sets victory over injury-hit Marin Cilic who dramatically broke down in tears midway through the final.

Federer claimed his 19th Grand Slam title 6-3 6-1 6-4 and at 35 is Wimbledon’s oldest men’s winner of the modern era, succeeding Arthur Ashe, who was almost 32 when he won in 1976.

However, the Swiss superstar’s 11th Wimbledon final, and 29th at the Majors, will also be remembered for the moving sight of the popular Cilic breaking down in tears after slipping 0-3 behind in the second set. The seventh seeded Croatian, the 2014 US Open champion, sobbed inconsolably and buried his head in his towel as his title dream slipped away.

He then had his left foot taped at the end of the second set but it was in vain as Federer became the first player since Bjorn Borg in 1976 to win Wimbledon without dropping a set in the entire tournament.

Beneath a star-studded Royal Box where Prince William and wife Kate rubbed shoulders with actors Hugh Grant and Bradley Cooper, Cilic had his first break point in the fourth game. It was saved by Federer and it was to be Cilic’s only glimmer of hope. Federer broke in the next game when his opponent suffered a nasty fall on the worn surface which was to ultimately undermine his challenge.

Federer then served up two love service games before claiming the opener 6-3 off a Cilic double fault, the Croatian’s second of the final. The Swiss superstar swept into a 3-0 lead in the second set and at the changeover, Cilic slumped in his courtside chair in tears and in obvious pain. The trainer and doctor were summoned before Cilic hid his head in his towel in a desperate attempt to compose himself. The 28-year-old held serve on the resumption but the lethal barrage continued, Federer stretching his lead over his friend to 4-1. Cilic dropped the set 6-1 and called a medical timeout to have his left foot bandaged and take a painkiller. His discomfort was reflected in his statistics.

By the end of the second set, he had served just two aces compared to the 130 he had fired past bamboozled opponents in his previous six rounds. Federer pounced again with a break for 4-3 and wrapped up the one-sided final with a second serve ace to complete his coronation after just an hour and 41 minutes. Fittingly, he too wept at the end. — AFP

Melo-Kubot clinch men’s doubles 

The Brazilian-Polish men’s doubles pair of Marcelo Melo and Lukasz Kubot (top right) took a marathon five sets to overcome Austrian-Croatian pair of Oliver Marach and Mate Pavic in the final. It took four hours and 39 minutes of intense serve-dominated play on Sunday for fourth seeds Kubot and Melo to overcome the valiant No. 16 seeded rivals 5-7 7-5 7-6(2) 3-6 13-11. 

Jamie-Hingis win

Jamie Murray and Martina Hingis secured the mixed doubles title with a 6-4 6-4 victory over defending champions Henri Kontinen and Heather Watson

Makarova-Vesnina win doubles title

Ekaterina Makarova and Elena Vesnina of Russia won their first Wimbledon women’s doubles title with a 6-0 6-0 rout of Hao-Ching Chan and Monica Niculescu.

Multiple champs

8 R Federer (Switzerland) 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2009, 2012, 2017

7 William Renshaw (Britain) 1881, 1882, 1883, 1884, 1885, 1886, 1889

7 Pete Sampras (USA) 1993, 1994, 1995, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000

5 Laurence Doherty (Britain) 1902, 1903, 1904, 1905, 1906

5 Björn Borg (Sweden) 1976, 1977, 1978, 1979, 1980


All readers are invited to post comments responsibly. Any messages with foul language or inciting hatred will be deleted. Comments with all capital letters will also be deleted. Readers are encouraged to flag the comments they feel are inappropriate.
The views expressed in the Comments section are of the individuals writing the post. The Tribune does not endorse or support the views in these posts in any manner.
Share On