Wednesday, February 21, 2018

google plus
Jammu Kashmir

Posted at: Feb 9, 2018, 12:52 AM; last updated: Feb 9, 2018, 12:52 AM (IST)

Name Leh Council chairman: BJP

Our Correspondent

Leh, February 8

All 19 BJP councillors of the Ladakh Autonomous Hill Development Council (LAHDC), Leh, have passed a resolution giving the authority to Cooperative and Ladakh Affairs Minister Chhering Dorje Lakrook and Member of Parliament Thupstan Chhewang to nominate the new LAHDC chairman.

The council, which has 30 members, is dominated by the BJP.

The post of the chairman fell vacant on January 29 after the death of Sonam Dawa Lonpo in Leh.

Sources said the process of nomination for the post had started on February 6 but no consensus had been reached in the council.

The resolution read: “Keeping in view the emergency situation post the death of the chairman of the 5th LAHDC, Leh, the councillors of the BJP wholeheartedly entrusted the most respected leaders of the party Thupstan Chhewang and Chhering Dorje Lakrool with the process of electing the new chairman.”

The resolution had the signs of all 19 BJP councillors.

It further read: “We resolved with unanimity that the councillors will accept whoever is nominated for the post by the two senior leaders and the decision is taken to show deepest faith in the party leadership.”


All readers are invited to post comments responsibly. Any messages with foul language or inciting hatred will be deleted. Comments with all capital letters will also be deleted. Readers are encouraged to flag the comments they feel are inappropriate.
The views expressed in the Comments section are of the individuals writing the post. The Tribune does not endorse or support the views in these posts in any manner.
Share On